HALALCORNER.ID, JAKARTA – When a product has had a Halal certificate, every Muslim will feel safe to consume the product. But sometimes, there are perceptual mistakes in the halal product.

Here will be presented 7 misperceptions that are widely circulated in the community.

  1. The validity of halal certificate

Many consider that if a brand has had a Halal certificate, then forever will be Halal. But, actually is a halal certificate MUI only valid for 2 years and after that should be extended if there is no change in composition and it must be re-audited if there is a change in raw materials or process.

In fact, in the other countries almost do more stringent provisions with the validity of halal certification for 1 year. A brand that originally has a Halal certificate then can be lost or not have a Halal certificate again because the next audit contains materials that do not pass the Halal examination.

That’s why we are always careful to check the Halal logo on the packaging because the brand that does not have Halal certificate certainly cannot put halal logo again.

  1. National and province Halal Certificate

Often many brands that have a lot of branches in the region but have not an initiative to make Halal nationally applicable in all outlets or is called SJH (halal assurance system). Usually, there are some outlets that take the initiative for making Halal to its own outlet which halal-only applies in certain provinces.

However, the misperception that occurs is when the province’s local certificate is recognized as nationally. This becomes misguided if the similarity of materials does not mean then all outlets become Halal. Because to have a national halal certificate, halal is not only checked from the material but the process and packaging/presentation.

Therefore, if in other outlets there is the process and presentation is contaminated something that is not Halal, then the Halal certificate in other province outlets cannot guarantee. Because of that, a brand with many outlets is recommended to have a national halal certificate in order to ensure halal of the entire outlet. Thus, the customer will be calmer eating at any branch outlet.

  1. Halal materials do not guarantee Halal product

A product can claim vegan or herbal with all natural ingredients Halal. Or claim does not contain pork and alcohol. But sometimes, in the process of product produce alcohol so it becomes not Halal to consumption.

Examples are angciu cooking, angciu made from rice tapai essence, tapai is halal food but when it becomes angciu its product will contain alcohol and become khamr. Therefore, angciu is not Halal to be consumed.

Otherwise, in the process, the product is located with the same as other products containing Haram materials, and then there is contamination that causes the product to be not Halal. Therefore, now many herbal/vegan products make halal certificates on their products to ensure consumers’ comfort in consuming them. So, Halal certification makes people easier to search for Halal products from outside to inside.

  1. Halal variant does not guarantee all product to be Halal.

Generally, it happens to brands with many product variants. It is like cosmetics, the existence of Halal certification in some variants such as lipstick or skincare does not guarantee all products under the same brand will be halal, because sometimes in one brand there are products that are registered halal certification and some are not.

Similarly, the food is in the restaurant, it could be Halal only tomato sauce or coffee and does not mean have the halal-certified restaurant. But only the attached products are definitely halal.

It has also happened to the bakery brand, apparently at that bakery only bread variant that is Halal, while the cake is still using rhum in its manufacture, so for cake products do not include Halal products even for bread variants already have Halal certification.

  1. Halal Cosmetics, all is legitimate for wudhu?

Halal cosmetics which get Halal is the product, does not mean eliminate the nature of the product. This is valid for any waterproof product. For example, kutek and mascara. In terms of products, this product may have a halal certificate. But it caused nature is waterproof; water cannot penetrate the skin when wudhu. Although it does not matter if it used to worship.

The solution is easy, for example by using cosmetics that can be penetrated ablution water, using makeup that faded when flushed to water is making it easy to ablutions. Or it can also remove the makeup first before doing wudhu.

Read also: Maya, Halal nail polish

  1. Zero alcohol = Halal?

Now many the product claims zero alcohol. It is said to facilitate the people who want to taste the alcoholic drink to be enjoyed without getting drunk. As the regulation of MUI that a product whose name resembles a Haram cannot get a Halal certificate.

Read also: Zero alcohol champagne

When going to check the Halal of a food and cosmetics, if not use Halal logo usually people will do a check on the raw material contained in the packaging. Moreover, only suspected contains pigs such as porcine, swine, pork or boar. Otherwise, it contains alcohol or rhum or other alcoholic products.

Actually, we can also look through other materials. Such as dyes, emulsifiers, bleach, flavorings, all susceptible material in the infiltrated material is not halal. Therefore knowledge of halal raw materials, it is very important especially for women who often times shop for households.

Read also: Critical point of halal chocolate

  1. All products containing E code are haram?

Code E is not a harbinger of a product containing Halal substances. Because code E is an additive material code.Where additives for products can be made from vegetable or animal. For animals, themselves are not always pigs, but it can also be made from cows, goats, or other halal animals.

Also read: Are code E Halal?

This is happened and became viral when a famous ice cream product in Indonesia wrote one of the ingredients containing the code E then uploaded a netizen that the product contains the E code of pig while in the packaging is clear MUI halal logo. Moreover, it causes of slander, because many who think Halal MUI logo in the brand of ice cream is not valid. Whereas in addition to the code E has written “plant origin” which means made of plants and products are Halal to consumed. Therefore, the Halal logo is very easy for us to sort out, whether the products we will consume really Halal.

Well, there are 7 misperceptions that are often made by the society which caused us becoming difficult to detect and sort out Halal products. Therefore, careful and thorough must be accompanied by sufficient of knowledge about the material, rules and wrong perceptions as above.

Hope this article can help.

Fan page             :  HALAL CORNER

FB Group             :  http://bit.ly/1SL4wQB

Website               :  www.halalcorner.id

Twitter                 :  @halalcorner

Instagram            :  @halalcorner

Red : RRM / SZB

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here